BERM 14 Symposium Program / Agenda

Symposium Program
with Abstracts

BERM home page

Symposium Hours
Organized Sessions Orals Posters (Authors Present)* Exhibition Hours
Monday, October 12, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
8:30 am - 3:45 pm

2:30 pm - 4:00 pm (Session 1)
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm (Session 2)
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
8:30 am - noon     
*Posters to be on display throughout the organized sessions.
Technical Sessions:
  • Challenges in Reference Material Preparation
  • CRM Developments In Environmental Analysis
  • Purity Assessment and qNMR
  • Reference Materials for Biosimilars, Pharmaceuticals, and Bioanalysis
  • CRM Developments for Clinical Analyses
  • Use of CRMs
  • Commutability of Clinical RMs
  • Accreditation, Proficiency Testing and Use of Reference Materials
  • Recent Guidance for RM Producers and Users
  • Isotopics in Natural Matrix RMs
  • CRM Developments for Food and Dietary Supplements
  • Speciation Analysis and Reference Materials
  • Reference Materials and Microbiology
  • Confidence in Identification for Preparation of Biological Reference Materials
 
 
Social Events:
(Location: Pose Ultra Lounge, Gaylord National Resort)
  • Welcome Reception: Sunday, Oct 11, 7:00 – 9:00 pm
  • Exclusive Appreciation Reception (mingle with colleagues and exhibitors): Tuesday, Oct 13, 7:00 – 9:00 pm
 
 
Plenary and Keynote Session Schedule (Location: Cherry Blossom)
Monday, October 12
9:00 am – 
9:40 am
Plenary 1: Demands on Reference Materials from European Legislation
Hendrik Emons, IRMM
9:40 am –
10:10 am
Keynote 1: Certified Reference Materials (CRMs) for the Analysis of Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) in Environmental Samples
Eric Reiner, Ontario Minstry of the Environment and Climate Change
1:30 pm –
2:10 pm
Plenary 2: Applications of Environmental and Biological Reference Materials: Forensics; Litigation and Mediation; National Human Levels Surveys; and Human Exposure Studies
Don Patterson, EnviroSolutions
2:10 pm –
2:40 pm
Keynote 2: Reference Materials and Standards in the Development of Biosimilars and Biopharmaceticals
Barry Cherney, Amgen
2:40 pm –
3:10 pm
Keynote 3: A Role of Quantitative Nuclear Magnetic Resonance in the On Demand Dissemination of High Purity Organic CRMs
Takeshi Saito, NMIJ
 
Tuesday, October 13
8:30 am –
9:10 am
Plenary 3: Performance Criteria for Measurement Methods and Reference Materials in Clinical Analysis
Mauro Panteghini, CIRME
9:10 am –
9:40 am
Keynote 4: Critical Needs for Certified Reference Materials (CRMs) in the Contract Analytical Laboratory
Darryl Sullivan, Covance
9:40 am –
10:10 am
Keynote 5: Absolute Quantification of Organic Species Without the Need for Specific Standards
Ruiz Encinar, University of Oviedo
1:30 pm –
2:00 pm
Keynote 6: Proficiency Testing in Support of the US Food Safety Modernization Act
Arlene Fox, AOAC
2:00 pm –
2:30 pm
Keynote 7: Commutability of Reference Materials for Healthcare Measurements
Ingrid Zegers, IRMM
 
Wednesday, October 14
8:30 am –
9:10 am
Plenary 4: Regulatory Requirements and Reference Materials: A Tale That Can No Longer be Ignored
Daniel Fabricant, Natural Products Assoc.
9:10 am –
9:40 am
Keynote 8: Latest Developments in the Guidance Available for the Users of Reference Materials
Angelique Botha, NMISA
9:40 am –
10:10 am
Keynote 9: Stable Isotopic and Radioisotopic Matrix Reference Materials to Address Scientific Questions from Biology and Geosciences to Forensics and Environmental Assessment
Manfred Groening, IAEA
1:20 pm –
2:00 pm
Plenary 5: Humorous Health: Medicine, Diet, Dietary Supplements, Lifestyle as Seen Through Cartoons
Mark Blumenthal, Am. Botanical Council
2:00 pm –
2:30 pm
Keynote 10: Food Reference Materials for Nutritional Assessments
Melissa Phillips, NIST
 
Thursday, October 15
8:30 am –
9:10 am
Plenary 6: Closing the Reproducibility Gap with Standards and Best Practices
Raymond Cypess, ATCC
9:10 am –
9:40 am
Keynote 11: Advances in SI-Traceable Analytical Methods for Certification of Biological Reference Materials
Sang-Ryoul Park, KRISS
9:40 am –
10:10 am
Keynote 12: The Role of Certified Reference Matierials in Food and Cosmetic Safety
Steven Musser, FDA
1:30 pm –
2:10 pm
Plenary 7: Aerosols?! - Reference Material Needs and Challenges
Ulrich Panne, BAM
2:10 pm –
2:40 pm
Keynote 13: Nanotechnology Applications and Analytical Challenges
Ruud Peters, RIKILT
2:40 pm –
3:20 pm
Plenary 8: CRMs - A Future Perspective
Derek Craston, LGC

Scientific Committee
Symposium Chair: Stephen A. Wise, email: stephen.wise@nist.gov, phone: +1 301-975-3112
Hendrik Emons, IRMM, EC, email: hendrik.emons@ec.europa.eu
Kate Rimmer, NIST, USA, email: catherine.rimmer@nist.gov
James Harnly, USDA, USA, email: James.Harnly@ars.usda.gov
Stephen E. Long, NIST, USA, email: stephen.long@nist.gov
Joseph Betz, NIH-ODS, USA, email: betzj@od.nih.gov
Peter Jenks, Sigma-Aldrich, UK, email: peter.jenks@sial.com
Alan Nichols, Sigma-Aldrich, USA, email: alan.nichols@sial.com
Derek Craston, LGC, UK, email: derek.craston@lgcgroup.com
Zoltan Mester, NRC, Canada, email: zoltan.mester@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Ulrich Panne, BAM, Germany, email: ulrich.panne@bam.de
Lindsey Mackay, NMIA, Australia, email: lindsey.mackay@measurement.gov.au
Angelique Botha, NMISA, South Africa, email: Abotha@nmisa.org
Takeshi Saito, NMIJ, Japan, email: takeshi.saito@aist.go.jp
Sang-Ryoul Park, KRISS, Korea, email: srpark@kriss.re.kr
Eric Reiner, Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Canada, email: eric.reiner@ontario.ca