Alfred R. Bader Award

For Student Innovation 2021 in Chemistry


We are proud to announce the winners of the 2021 Alfred R. Bader Award for Student Innovation.

  • Rachel Knapp (UCLA, USA)
  • Isabelle Leibler (Princeton University, USA)
  • Mauro Mato (ICIQ, Spain)
  • Rui Zhang (University of Chicago, USA)

Join us in honoring these young pioneers as they present their research at the virtual Chemistry Symposium.

Register Now to Attend the Bader Student Chemistry Symposium

You will receive an email with login details shortly.

  • Date: November 4, 2021
  • Time: 7:00 AM PT / 9:00 AM CT / 10:00 AM ET / 3:00 PM CET / 10:00 PM CH / 11:00 PM JP

Who Should Attend?

Anyone interested in:

  • chemical synthesis, including catalysis, methodology development and chemical biology
  • cheminformatics
  • drug discovery, including discovery and process

Bader Award For Student Innovation

As a vibrant global science and technology company, we honor the contributions of aspiring minds. Since 2005, the Bader Award recognizes the work of chemistry graduate students, whose innovative research is making an impact on synthetic organic chemistry and has the potential to advance science in the future.

This award supports the next generation of scientists by building on the legacy of Alfred R. Bader, who was one of the foremost chemical innovators of his time. As co-founder of Aldrich Chemical Company, which later became Sigma-Aldrich now part of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, Bader was committed to scientific collaboration and valued high-quality, innovative products.


Fields indicated by an * are required.