Chemical Synthesis

ACS Award Winners

ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry
ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry

ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry
(Sponsored by the Aldrich Chemical Company, LLC)

Scott J. Miller
Yale University

Professor Scott Miller’s research group at Yale is attempting to tackle a variety of asymmetric chemical synthesis problems, whether it be oxidation, halogenation, or transfer hydrogenations. Along with designing and synthesizing pharmaceutically-active molecules to study molecular motions inside peptides, his research group is also researching the mediation of dynamic kinetic resolution in the selective binding of targeted biological receptors. By incorporating modern computational design and crafting stabilized transition-state molecules, they are analyzing the bond rotations of peptide environments, a task previously deemed problematic due to planar conformation and packing forces of proteins. These astounding observations of catalyst-substrate complexes via X-Ray crystallography are allowing scientists to further understand higher-energy active sites and explain enzymatic rate acceleration paradigms.



Previous Winners
2015 F. Dean Toste
2014 Amir H. Hoveyda
2013 Erick Moran Carreira
2012 Gregory C. Fu
2011 David W. C. MacMillan
2010 Ei-ichi Negishi
2009 Hisashi Yamamoto
2008 Masakatsu Shibasaki
2007 Steven V. Ley
2006 Stephen L. Buchwald
2005 Chi-Huey Wong
2004 Tohru Fukuyama
2003 Scott E. Denmark
2002 Andrew G. Myers

2001 Eric N. Jacobsen
2000 Dennis P. Curran
1999 Dale L. Boger
1998 Paul A. Wender
1997 Amos B. Smith, III
1996 Teruaki Mukaiyama
1995 Larry E. Overman
1994 Stuart L. Schreiber
1993 K. C. Nicolaou
1992 Dieter Seebach
1991 Paul A. Grieco
1990 Clayton H. Heathcock
1989 Sir Derek H. R. Barton

1988 Robert E. Ireland
1987 Harry Wasserman
1986 Samuel J. Danishefsky
1985 Albert I. Meyers
1984 Leo A. Paquette
1983 K. Barry Sharpless
1982 David A. Evans
1981 Barry M. Trost
1980 Yoshito Kishi
1979 George A. Olah
1978 Satoru Masamune
1977 No Award
1976 Franz Sondheimer



ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry
(Sponsored by the Aldrich Chemical Company, LLC)

Mercouri Kanatzidis
Northwestern University

Mercouri Kanatzidis has been awarded the ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry for his innovations in thermoelectric material synthesis and photochemistry detection systems. By measuring thermal and quantum fluctuations during superconductor phase transfers, his research group at Northwestern is characterizing the formation of energy gaps in charge-density waves. By systematically exploring the disorder of a material’s electronic and crystal structure, more information about phase transitions and valence electrons in intermetallic compounds is now readily available. This team of scientists led by Mercouri Kanatzidis is combining scanning tunneling microscopy and X-ray diffraction techniques to understand energy dispersion and anisotropic thermal expansion.



Previous Winners
2015 John T. Groves
2014 Guy Bertrand
2013 Daniel L. DuBois
2012 Clifford P. Kubiak
2011 Robert J. Cava
2010 Donald J. Darensbourg
2009 Daniel G. Nocera
2008 Kenneth N. Raymond
2007 Sheldon G. Shore

2006 Karl E. Wieghardt
2005 William J. Evans
2004 Herbert W. Roesky
2003 Karl O. Christe
2002 Thomas B. Rauchfuss
2001 Edward I. Solomon
2000 Edward I. Stiefel
1999 Richard D. Adams
1998 Brice Bosnich